CII & CeMAP: Mortgage Adviser Qualification

Financial Services… the world is your oyster.

Enter your details and we’ll get in touch, or give us a call on 01332 613 688

Click submit once and you'll receive a confirmation email shortly

Home > CoursesFinancial Services > Mortgage Advisor

Want to start your journey towards a successful career in financial services? Then our CII financial adviser course is ideal.

The Award in Financial Administration, beginning with CF1, gives you a thorough introduction to the financial services industry, including investment planning, life and pensions, and key legislation.

The qualification, from the Chartered Insurance Institute (CII), is recognised within the industry as the starting point for pathways into a range of sectors, from financial planning to life and pensions.

Throughout the course, you’ll receive expert support from a tutor with industry experience, over the phone, by email, and through other means. Your tutor will help you achieve your goals at your own pace, agreeing a study plan that suits you.

CII & CeMAP mortgage adviser qualification details

Course format

  • Distance learning
  • Tutor support

Assessment Type

  • CeMAP: 2-hour exam (included in price)
  • CII: multiple choice on-screen tests (not included in price)

Course Length

  • CeMAP: 6-12 months, 200 hours of study
  • CII: around 12 months


No formal qualifications are required

You will learn

  • The range of protection and mortgage products offered, with an extensive knowledge of the mortgage market
  • How to apply UK financial regulation and mortgage policy to give effective advice to consumers
  • The current technical language, tools, methods and practices of mortgage advice needed for effective financial decision-making
  • About the mortgage market’s need to respond to the constantly changing economic, legal and regulatory environment


To achieve the full CeMAP mortgage adviser qualification, you will need to complete three modules which, together, are made up of seven units.

Module 1:

  • Unit 1 – Introduction to Financial Services Environment and Products
  • Unit 2 – UK Financial Services and Regulation

Module 2:

  • Unit 3 – Mortgage Law, Policy, Practice and Markets
  • Unit 4 – Mortgage Applications Unit 5 – Mortgage Payment Methods and Products
  • Unit 5 – Mortgage Payment Methods and Products
  • Unit 6 – Mortgage Arrears and Post Completion Issues

Module 3:

  • Unit 7 – Assessment of Mortgage Advice and Knowledge

For the CII Certificate in Mortgage Advice, you will need to complete two units.

CF1: UK financial services, regulations and ethics

CF6: Mortgage Advice

Certificate in
Mortgage Advice and Practice (CeMAP)


per module

CII Certificate in
Mortgage Advice


per unit

Progression after the CII and CeMAP mortgage adviser qualifications

Both CeMAP and CII meet the educational standard required by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) of anyone wishing to achieve a ‘licence to practice’ and work as a mortgage adviser, opening up a world of opportunities for those who complete the qualification.

The CII and CeMAP mortgage adviser qualifications are also the perfect foundations for further qualifications that will help propel you into a more senior role. For example, you can go on to study the level 4 Diploma in Mortgage Advice and Practice (DipMAP).

Get started on your finance course today!

Enter your details and we’ll get in touch, or give us a call on
01332 613 688

We use cookies on our website. You are free to manage this via your browser setting at any time. To learn more about how we use the cookies, please see our Cookie Policy.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.