CIMA 2017 Syllabus Changes: Are You Ready?

Posted by: Patricia Barlow Post Date: 30th November 2016

The CIMA Certificate syllabus changes as of January 2017. So, what do these changes mean to those wanting to study the qualification?

The new units


The new syllabus means that the CIMA Certificate is made up of four units. These are BA1 Fundamentals of Business Economics, BA2 Fundamentals of Management Accounting, BA3 Fundamentals of Financial Accounting, and BA4 Fundamentals of Ethics, Corporate Governance and Business Law.

Each unit works through the given topic, focusing on theory and using scenarios as a basis for learning.

Once you have completed these four units, you will then be able to go on and complete the CIMA Operational Level, part of the CIMA Professional qualification.


Assessment is via an exam sat at the end of each unit. These exams are called objective tests, and need to be sat at CIMA approved training centres.

The results are immediate, and will be given at the end of the exam.

What does this mean for existing learners?

If you are currently studying towards the CIMA Certificate, you will be unable to sit the old CO1 to CO5 exams after January 2017.

Any exams you have already passed will be carried forward to the new syllabus, while any exams you still need to sit will be on the new syllabus.

If you have any questions, or would like to enrol on a CIMA course, please get in touch below.

Want to become a qualified accountant?

Get in touch below to find out how, or call us on
01332 613 688

Share this post

We use cookies on our website. You are free to manage this via your browser setting at any time. To learn more about how we use the cookies, please see our Cookie Policy.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.